Poetry or Bust

In my afternoon class we are reflecting on poetry, what it means to us, and why it should (or shouldn’t) be taught in school. Students have been interviewing one another on this topic. Among the questions they are asking each other are these:

 Should people write and learn about poetry in school? Why or why not?

 H. answered this way:

Interviewer: Should people write and learn about poetry in school?

H: Yes!

Interviewer: Why?

H: Because I would go crazy without it. I would go on strike!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Poetry or Bust

  1. I think H is my favorite of your students from the way you write about her. I get a sense of someone who really embraces what catches her fancy. I bet she’s rewarding to teach.

Leave a Reply

