Writer’s Blank


Thanksgiving break means I’ve had a little time to sort through my own poems. I found a few about teaching, including this one, inspired by one of my students:

Writer’s Blank

During the poetry lesson
in Mrs. C’s 7th Grade English class
José waved his hand: “Teacher,
Teacher! I have writer’s blank!”
“José, just write. Write
anything. Write
the questions.” Today
I don’t even have the questions.
Except, maybe this:
What can I love
about life
today?
What do you love?

  

photo by Aja Riggs

Leave a Reply

